Louisiana No Pay No Play Auto Insurance Rules Explained
January 10, 2016
Louisiana’s No Pay No Play Auto Insurance Rules Explained
Recently the Insurance Research Council estimated the percentage of uninsured motorists on Louisiana highways was about 13 percent. Insurance Commissioner James J. Donelon estimates that as many as 30 percent of drivers in Louisiana do not carry an automobile liability policy.
Higher insurance for everyone
The state's Department of Motor Vehicles says this is why the Pelican State has the second-highest auto insurance costs in the country. For this reason, state legislators introduced No Pay, No Play. To know your rights about automobile accident claims, it is important that you consult with a New Orleans auto accident lawyer. Here are a few more things you should know about No Pay, No Play.
Driving uninsured violates the law
Fines start at $75 to $100 for a first conviction; Up to $250 for a second offense. Additional convictions are more substantial. Being in an accident brings more legal problems.
Even if the other driver is entirely at fault, No Pay, No Play prevents the uncovered driver from collecting the first $25,000 of property damages caused by the accident and the first $15,000 covering personal injuries.
If you need a New Orleans auto accident lawyer or need advice about out of court settlements, contact the Venegas Law Firm to discuss the details of your case. It is always free to chat with Brandon Venegas. Get the advice you need before you consider settling with an insurance company after you have been involved in an auto accident.